04/10/2020 by On behalf of Law Office of Michael S. Rothman | Jun 23, 2015 | Criminal Defense Attorney, DUI/DWI |
WHAT ARE THE POTENTIAL CONSEQUENCES OF REPEATED DUI CHARGES?
Repeat offenders may be sentenced to much harsher penalties than someone who has never been convicted of a crime before. If you’ve been arrested for drunk driving, you need to contact a law firm in Rockville right away.
An attorney can review your case to determine if you have a good chance of obtaining an acquittal or if it may be in your best interests to negotiate a plea deal.
Driver’s License Suspension
After a second DUI conviction, you can expect your driver’s license to be suspended for one year. For a third DUI conviction, Maryland law provides for license revocation for up to 18 months. It’s a good idea to consult your attorney to learn how to stay in compliance after receiving a notice of suspension. You will be required to immediately return your most recent driver’s license to a Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) branch office. If you lost your driver’s license, your attorney can help you prepare a certified statement to explain the circumstances.
Ignition Interlock Device Installation
After the one-year suspension is over, you will receive a notice of restriction. This notice will inform you that you must maintain an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and any vehicles you co-own for one year. You must have the device installed by an authorized Ignition Interlock Service Provider. Then, you’ll need to obtain a restricted driver’s license. You are responsible for paying the fees associated with the ignition interlock device.
Alcohol Abuse Assessment
If you’re convicted of drunk driving for the second time, the judge may require that you undergo an alcohol abuse evaluation and successfully complete a treatment program. The assessment will categorize you as a “social drinker” or a “problem drinker.” Maryland has different programs for each category.
Severe financial penalties are likely to accompany your second DUI conviction. The judge may order you to pay a fine of up to $2,000. If it’s your third DUI conviction, expect a fine of up to $3,000.
For a second DUI conviction, you will be required to serve a minimum of five days behind bars. The judge could sentence you to up to two years in prison. For a third DUI conviction, you could be sentenced to up to three years behind bars.