04/10/2020 by On behalf of Law Office of Michael S. Rothman | Dec 5, 2018 | Assault |
Maryland massage therapist facing assault charges
Assault charges can have serious consequences that could have a long-term effect on the accused and their family.
According to Maryland Criminal Code, Section 3-202, an assault conviction can result in up to 25 years in prison for a first-degree assault and up to 10 years in prison, plus $2,500 in fines for a second degree misdemeanor assault. If the assault was sexual in nature, the alleged perpetrator may be charged with a sexual offense. For instance, one may be charged with a fourth degree sexual offense Maryland.
For example, a Maryland massage therapist was recently arrested and charged with two misdemeanors, including a second-degree assault and fourth-degree sex offense following an incident involving a female client. According to the client, she went to the spa for a massage and was touched inappropriately by the male masseuse during the massage.
The client apparently told him to stop and later reported the incident to the spa and police. The massage therapist was suspended from his job and arrested approximately two months after the incident. He was released on an unsecured personal bond.
If charged with assault, an attorney can come up with a strategy to defend the accused against these charges. A common defense for sexual assault is consent, meaning that a defense attorney can gather evidence to prove that the alleged victim consented to the sexual activity with the alleged perpetrator. Another defense may be to show that the alleged inappropriate contact never occurred. To find out which defenses can be used, consult with a Maryland criminal defense attorney.